Open Letter to Mitt Romney

Dear Mitt Romney,

I want to introduce myself, as a potential voter. I’m a late-twenties, white male from the mid-west. I orientate myself as heterosexual. I have a stable job, plenty of opportunity, and make a decent living for myself. And up until recently, I would have called myself a Republican in regards to my fiscal conservatism. About the only trait that I don’t fit, of the ‘core’ GOP constituency, is that I’m an Atheist (obvious from the name of the Blog). That said, as an atheist, it’s a rather easy thing to keep under wraps and hide from the rest of the world.

I want to tell you about the privilege I have in this country. As a white individual, I have a massively lower chance of being arrested, or incarcerated for that matter, than my minority peers. As a male, I do not have to fear being sexually assaulted or raped in virtually any situation in life. As a heterosexual, I face virtually no social stigma and am welcomed into virtually any community I choose to join. As a productive member of society, I receive the favor of my parents, peers, and politicians. As an atheist I can be as quiet as I want about the subject and know that I can blend into any group or situation if I so choose.

Given the facts that I am a renter (no home owner tax credit), a college graduate (no need for additional student loans), gainfully employed at a reputable company (I have complete healthcare coverage), male (no need to worry about birth control or access to an abortion), and white, middle-class (virtually no need to worry about government assistance programs) I have virtually no stake in the President’s current administration or current campaign. If anything, I probably stand to gain more from your presidency.

Now, I want to talk about why I WILL NOT be voting for you… Despite me having this incredible level of privileged and ability in our society, I hold this position knowing it is not right or fair. I have friends and family that inhabit virtually every combination of virtually every minority or majority demographic in this country. I vote for the President because he fights to have all peoples given the same opportunities.

Recently, you had statements released from you May 2012 private fundraiser where you had made a statement of “If you’re born in this country (America), 95% of life is setup for you”. This statement is only true for people like me. People like you. We are a privileged few, indeed. But I ask; why shouldn’t all people in this country have the same opportunities as we do? Should not a young black woman have as much opportunity as you or I? Should not a young Arab muslim? I think so.

I may not believe in a higher power, but I do believe that a president is here to lead the entire country, not just 53% of it. I fully appreciate that you’re a venerable leader in the business community, although I may not fully support many of the business practices you’ve chosen to utilize, I do recognize the brilliance and strategy involved. But the most important thing I’ve heard come out of this campaign wasn’t from any presidential candidate, but from people just like me, who agree the government is not a business, nor should it be run like one. It is a government, designed by the people FOR the people.
Companies are NOT people.

Best of luck in your other future endeavors,
Tyler

One comment on “Open Letter to Mitt Romney

  1. Cara says:

    Very nicely written; not an attack, just an honest, sincere letter. Although I pretty much disagree with Romney on principle, I do wonder about his comment “if you’re born in this country, 95% of life is set up for you.” I think he is way off base, considering his seeming distain for the poor, and I might be looking at this too much, but from my tiny research on the Internet, half of the world’s population lacks access to proper sanitation. One sixth lacks access the safe drinking water, with 25,000 people dying every day from unclean water. One in seven will never learn how to read and 66% of the world’s school age girls have no access to an education. I don’t know how that all adds up, from Romney’s perspective, and if by “95% set up for you” he means a nice house, a good job, a safe, happy life, then he has no idea what he’s talking about. But when it come to clean water, access to roads, sanitation, public education… Then I would have to agree. There are certain basic human needs that this government must provide. Now if only they’d get it through their heads that universal healthcare coverage for all is a basic human need, then they’d be on the right track. :)

Leave a Reply

